Head to head
Clover Amour vs Tulip Etimo
Both are ten soft-grip hooks in a similar price band. The size lists do not match, and that is the real difference.
By Sawyer V. · Published September 9, 2026
Disclosure: we earn a commission when you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never decides what we recommend or how we rank it - read the full disclosure.

The short answer
Buy the Tulip Etimo Rose if you work in fine yarn or want everything in a case - its ten hooks start at 2.00mm and it ships with needles, scissors and a zipped case. Buy the Clover Amour if you work in DK and worsted - it fills in the 2.75mm, 3.25mm and 3.75mm sizes that Tulip skips, which are the ones DK patterns actually call for. Both have a soft grip and both top out at 6.0mm.
These are the two ergonomic sets people upgrade to, they cost roughly the same, and almost every comparison of them comes down to which handle feels nicer - which is not something anyone can tell you from a specification sheet. The useful comparison is what is in each box, and there the two sets differ more than they look like they do.
The comparison
| Clover Amour | Tulip Etimo Rose | |
|---|---|---|
| Hooks in the set | 10 | 10 |
| Range | B/2.25mm to J/6.0mm | 2.00mm to 6.00mm |
| Grip | Elastomer rubber, latex free | Cushioned soft grip |
| Shaft | Aluminum | Not stated on the retail listing |
| Head | Rounded, between in-line and tapered | Polished tip, Tulip's own profile |
| Sizing marked as | US letters and mm | mm only |
| Case | Not included | Zipped carry case |
| Extras | None | Two darning needles, scissors |
| Made in | Not stated on the product page | Hiroshima, Japan |
The size lists do not line up
Both sets contain ten hooks, both stop at 6.0mm, and the natural assumption is that they cover the same ground. They do not.
| mm | Clover Amour | Tulip Etimo Rose |
|---|---|---|
| 2.00 | - | Yes |
| 2.20 | - | Yes |
| 2.25 (B) | Yes | - |
| 2.50 | - | Yes |
| 2.75 (C) | Yes | - |
| 3.00 | - | Yes |
| 3.25 (D) | Yes | - |
| 3.50 (E) | Yes | Yes |
| 3.75 (F) | Yes | - |
| 4.00 (G) | Yes | Yes |
| 4.50 (7) | Yes | Yes |
| 5.00 (H) | Yes | Yes |
| 5.50 (I) | Yes | Yes |
| 6.00 (J) | Yes | Yes |
The two sets share six sizes and differ on eight. Tulip spends its first three hooks below 2.5mm, in quarter-millimeter and fifth-millimeter steps, and then jumps in round half-millimeters. Clover starts higher and fills in the odd sizes - 2.75, 3.25 and 3.75 - that the metric-only set skips entirely.
The mirror of that is the fine end. If you crochet with sock yarn, lace weight or fine cotton, Tulip gives you three hooks below 2.5mm and Clover gives you one. Which set has the sizes you need depends entirely on which yarn you use - the bands are set out on the Craft Yarn Council chart, and the full letter-to-millimeter conversion is on our hook size chart.
Letters against millimeters
Clover marks its hooks with the US letter and the millimeter size. Tulip marks millimeters, which is the international convention.
This sounds trivial and is not, if you crochet from American patterns. A US pattern says "size H hook" and you want to pick up a hook that says H. With a metric-only set you are translating on every project, and the translation is not always clean - US G is 4.0mm on some charts and 4.25mm on others, which is exactly the sort of ambiguity a marked letter removes.
If you crochet from European or Japanese patterns, the reverse applies and the metric marking is the one you want.
The grip
Both sets exist because of their handles. Clover's is molded elastomer rubber, latex free. Tulip's is a cushioned soft grip. Both are substantially thicker than a bare aluminum shaft, and thickness is the property that matters: a wider handle needs less pinch force to hold securely, and sustained pinch force is what produces the ache crocheters describe in the thumb web.
Beyond that, we are not going to tell you which one feels better. Neither manufacturer publishes a handle diameter, hand preference is genuinely individual, and we have not crocheted with either set. Anyone claiming a definitive winner on feel is telling you about their hands, not yours. The wider ergonomic options - including much thicker handles than either of these - are in best ergonomic crochet hooks.
What comes in the box
The Tulip set includes two darning needles, a pair of scissors and a zipped carry case. The Clover product page lists ten hooks and nothing else.
- A case is not a trivial extra. Ten loose hooks in a project bag is how hooks get lost, and a separate hook case costs real money.
- Darning needles get used constantly. Every crochet project ends with ends to weave in.
- Scissors in the same case means the bag is self-contained.
- Against that, extras you already own are worth nothing. If you have a case, needles and scissors, this section is noise and the comparison comes back to sizes.
Which to buy
| If you... | Buy |
|---|---|
| Crochet mostly in DK and worsted from US patterns | Clover Amour - it has D, F and the letter markings |
| Work with sock yarn, lace or fine cotton | Tulip Etimo Rose - three hooks below 2.5mm |
| Own no case, needles or scissors yet | Tulip Etimo Rose - the extras are most of the price difference |
| Follow European or Japanese patterns | Tulip Etimo Rose - metric marking throughout |
| Already have a well-stocked notions bag | Clover Amour - you are only buying hooks |
| Need anything above 6.0mm | Neither set goes there; buy that size singly |
| Have not yet decided you like crochet | Neither - buy one cheap hook first |
What neither set does
- Bulky and super bulky. Both stop at 6.0mm. A blanket in super bulky wants 8mm to 10mm, which you buy separately - see hook size for a blanket.
- Thread crochet. Below 2mm is a different tool with a steel shaft - see best steel crochet hooks.
- A true in-line head. Both use their own rounded profiles. If in-line is what suits you, that is Susan Bates, and it is covered in Clover Amour vs Susan Bates.
- Interchangeable anything. Crochet hook sets are ten separate tools, unlike knitting needle sets - which is why hook sets vs single hooks is a real question and its knitting equivalent is a different one.
The cheaper way to decide
Both of these sets are an upgrade purchase, and the thing being upgraded is comfort. Before spending on either, buy one bare aluminum hook in 5mm and crochet a swatch for an hour.
If your hands are fine at the end of it, you may not need an ergonomic set at all, and you have found that out for the price of a coffee. If they ache, you now know exactly what you are buying and why - and the choice between these two comes down to the size list, which is a decision you can make from the table above.
How we compared them
Every figure on this page comes from the manufacturer or from a retailer quoting the manufacturer: the size lists, the handle materials, the set contents. We have not crocheted with either set and we make no claim about how either handle feels in the hand - that is the one thing a specification cannot tell you and the one thing people most want ranked. How we pick sets out the method.
Both sets in this comparison
- No photo
Clover Amour Crochet Hook Set
The Amour: ten elastomer-grip hooks, B/2.25mm to J/6.0mm, no case - the set that fills in 2.75, 3.25 and 3.75mm.
- No photo
Tulip Etimo Rose Crochet Hook Set
The Etimo Rose: ten cushion-grip hooks, 2.00mm to 6.00mm, with two darning needles, scissors and a zipped case.
- No photo
Susan Bates Silvalume Aluminum Crochet Hooks
The cheap control. Bare aluminum, in-line head - buy one in 5mm before you spend on either set.
- No photo
Clover Amour Steel Crochet Hook Set
If you are here because you want to go below 2mm: neither set does, and this one is built for it.
Questions people actually ask
Which is better, Clover Amour or Tulip Etimo?
Neither, in the abstract - they cover different sizes. Clover includes 2.75, 3.25 and 3.75mm and marks US letters, which suits DK and worsted crochet from American patterns. Tulip includes 2.00, 2.20 and 2.50mm and comes with a case, needles and scissors, which suits fine yarn and anyone starting from nothing.
Do Clover Amour and Tulip Etimo cover the same hook sizes?
No. Both sets have ten hooks and both stop at 6.0mm, but they share only six sizes. Tulip has three hooks below 2.5mm; Clover fills in 2.75, 3.25 and 3.75mm, which Tulip skips entirely.
Does the Clover Amour set come with a case?
The Clover product page lists ten hooks and nothing else - no case, needles or scissors. The Tulip Etimo Rose set includes a zipped carry case, two darning needles and a pair of scissors.
Are Tulip Etimo hooks marked with US letter sizes?
They are marked in millimeters, which is the international convention. If you crochet from US patterns written in letters, you will be converting on every project.
Do either of these sets go up to bulky hook sizes?
No. Both stop at 6.0mm, which is a J. For super bulky yarn you want 8mm to 10mm and will need to buy that size on its own.
Is an ergonomic crochet hook set worth the money?
It depends on how long you crochet in one sitting. A thicker handle needs less pinch force to hold, which is what reduces the ache after a long session. Crochet for an hour with a cheap bare-aluminum hook first - if your hands are fine, you have saved the money.